What’s art got to do with it?

A Summer School on Art and Collective Memory

August 22–28, 2022 in Bathorn, Germany

Starting out from the sculpture “Ein Weg durch das Moor” (A Path through the Bog, 1999) by the Swiss artist duo Peter Fischli and David Weiss, which is located in the immediate vicinity of the former Nazi prison camp Bathorn, participants of the Summer School are invited to engage with current debates concerning practices of remembrance and the ways in which art might contribute to them. Workshops, performances, readings, and discussions with artists, curators, and people active in the region as well as practical work on the conservation of the sculpture by Fischli & Weiss will all revolve around the question “What’s art got to do with it?” To put it in more specific terms: What does art have to do with the negotiation of history and what role can, should, or must it play in the discourse of collective memory? The summer school offers an opportunity for participants to explore together the relationship between the sociopolitical and historical dimensions of practices of remembrance and the critical potentials of artistic practice.

Peter Fischli and David Weiss, “Ein Weg durch das Moor” (A Path through the Bog, 1999)

The work of Peter Fischli (b. 1952) and David Weiss (1946–2012) revolves around the banalities of everyday life. With equal parts humor and philosophical insight, the Swiss duo’s multi-part installations, miniatures, and short films illuminate the seemingly incidental mechanisms of our coexistence. The range of materials used to make them is vast—from sausages and other food scraps to polyurethane rubber, clay, and wood. Through the deployment of materials and techniques that are relatively rudimentary, in artistic terms, they direct the viewer’s gaze to what is already familiar, only to push it into the absurd. Since Weiss passed away, Fischli has continued the work of the duo on his own. In response to an invitation from guest curators Harald Szeeman and Zdenek Felix, in 1999 Fischli and Weiss constructed a narrow boardwalk out of oak planks as part of the “Kunstwegen” project. The circular trail is three quarters of a mile long and takes visitors through the forested area behind the former Nazi forced-labor camp Bathorn, albeit without leading to a concrete destination. It is characterized by numerous bends and large differences in altitude; parts of it are missing. The design makes demands that necessitate a conscious and focused negotiation of the trail itself. At the half-way point there is a small clearing in the forest from which one can see a since rewilded peat bog. Alongside the important role played by nature, which is emphasized throughout in the deliberate avoidance of hard-wearing metal supports or anti-slip decking, the focus is above all the history of the area and reflections on it. As a silent site of encounter, the path offers visitors an opportunity to commemorate the history of the local Emsland camps and those who were imprisoned in them. At the same time it can be read as a reference to non-linear and notoriously incomplete processes of collective remembrance.

The open-air museum “Kunstwegen” was launched in the year 2000 as a cross-border project spanning the Netherlands and Germany. More than eighty sculptures by international artists are currently to be found along a route that is more than 110 miles long. The border regions are linked together through the sculptures and installations on view alongside the Vechte, a river that flows from the Westphalian Basin in Germany to the Ijsselmeer in the central Netherlands. The artworks enter into an intimate dialogue with their respective local contexts by picking up on natural phenomena, regional specificities and historical events.

The Site and Its History

Between 1933  and 1945 a total of fifteen so-called Emslandlager (Emsland Camps) were established and operated by the Nazis in today’s Emsland and the district of Bentheim. They were part of a large-scale project of “internal colonization” intended to refashion what was considered a backward region into a showcase of economic success as well as to make room for settlers from the eastern territories of the Reich. During the first years of their operation, the concentration camps, prisoner camps, and POW camps housed above all political prisoners, who were forced to work at the local peat extraction site. They came primarily from the socialist or communist milieus of Germany’s industrial Ruhr region and became a symbol of the international antifascist resistance through the song composed by some of the inmates themselves: “Die Moorsoldaten” (Peat Bog Soldiers). Camp XIV Bathorn was constructed in 1938 and was originally designed for a thousand prisoners. After the beginning of the war in 1939, most of them were POWs from the Soviet Union as well as France and its colonies. But Bathorn soon became exceptionally overcrowded, with more than four thousand inmates. Hard labor, insufficient food, and poor sanitary conditions in the barracks meant countless people died. The camp was liberated by Canadian troops in 1945 and would be repurposed into a reception camp for refugees and displaced persons.

Programm

  • James Gregory Atkinson (Workshop)
  • James Gregory Atkinson is a visual artist and graduate of Frankfurt’s Städelschule. Drawing on his bicultural German/African American background, his practice responds to the radical incompleteness of official archives of Black narratives and culture by creating alternative ways of encountering the past. His work across mediums draws on, edits, and modifies Queer and Black histories as a way of placing them in dialogue with the present. Together with the participants of his workshop he aims to develop critical strategies for dealing with established historiographies and archives, in order to actively expand the spectrum of memory culture with the help of transnational and intersectional narratives.
  • Credit: Killa Schuetze
  • Juliane Bischoff (Workshop)
  • Juliane Bischoff is a curator at the Munich Documentation Centre for the History of National Socialism, where among other projects she co-organized the exhibition “Tell me about yesterday tomorrow” (2019–20). She previously worked at the Kunsthalle Wien, where she curated solo and group exhibitions including “Kate Newby: I can’t nail the days down” (2018) and “How To Live Together” (2017) and organized discursive programs including “Political Futures” (2018). She regularly writes for art publications and exhibition catalogues. Bischoff’s workshop revolves around how art can make accessible knowledge of history and its significance for the present. Exploring this question involves discussing the aesthetics of remembrance culture as well as artistic processes that intervene in existing historical narratives or encourage people to confront the past collectively.
  • Credit: Orla Connolly
  • Talya Feldman (Workshop)
  • Talya Feldman is a time-based media artist. Her collaborative projects with activist and research-based networks have gained global recognition for combating racist and antisemitic narratives. Feldman was awarded the 2021 DAGESH-Kunstpreis for her sound installation “The Violence We Have Witnessed Carries a Weight on Our Hearts” at the Jewish Museum in Berlin, which will be on view at the Frenswegen Monastery as part of the Summer School. In conversations of right-wing terror, media coverage and social debates focus almost exclusively on the perpetrators. The perspectives of those affected and their relatives are almost completely missing. In her workshop Talya Feldman teaches participants to critically examine current media and political structures by challenging what they see – and what they hear. How do survivors and people affected by racist and antisemitic attacks speak and activate resistance? In what ways are they fighting for a dignified remembrance in both public and private space?
  • Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung (Film program)
  • Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung is a writer, critic, and founding editor of the institutional critique platform Decolonial Hacker. In 2021, he was awarded the International Award for Art Criticism (IAAC), and is currently the curatorial assistant of the Julia Stoschek Collection. As part of the Summer School’s film program, he will curate moving image works by artists dealing with the emergence and continuation of fascist structures in a global context.
  • Credit: Agustin Farias
  • Friedemann Heckel (Installation)
  • Friedemann Heckel is an artist who studied at the University of the Arts Berlin. His seating furniture will be installed in the cloister gardens for the duration of the summer school; each unit offers room for several people at once. The seating design is intended to release the individual from their solitary existence and create the opportunity for dialogue, intimate conversations, or small group discussions. It thus harbors the potential to be an aid to ideas, revelations, or questions that would not come up if one were on one’s own or with (too) many other people.
  • Anna Langhoff (Reading)
  • Anna Langhoff is an author, director and dramaturge. Her plays, writing, and audio pieces have been presented internationally and her work has been translated into multiple languages. She is the granddaughter of the actor and director Wolfang Langhoff, who was a survivor of one of the so-called Emsland camps — the Börgermoor concentration camp — and later wrote the renowned eyewitness account “Die Moorsoldaten” (The Bog Soldiers). At the summer school Anna Langhoff will read excerpts from his book and talk about its connections to current sociopolitical and cultural debates.
  • Kurt Buck & Roland Nachtigäller (Talk)
  • Kurt Buck is a teacher and historian. From 1985 to 2019, he directed the Emslandlager Documentation and Information Center (DIZ), which contributed significantly to the founding of today’s Esterwegen Memorial and plays an important role in processing and archiving the history of the local concentration, prisoner, and POW camps.
  • Roland Nachtigäller is an historian and curator. From 1999 to 2000 he was, with Martin Köttering, artistic co-director of the sculpture route “kunstwegen”. Among the works produced as part this project was Peter Fischli and David Weiss’s “Ein Weg durch das Moor” (A Path through the Bog, 1999). Since 2022 Nachtigäller has been managing director of the Stiftung Insel Hombroich.
  • Credit: Marta Herford, Photography: theothercara
  • Together they will talk about the genesis of the memorial as well as the work of Fischli and Weiss, and put it in context with the lengthy processes of historical reappraisal in the region and beyond.

Registration

To register for the summer school, please send an email with your name, address, phone number, accommodation type, and whether you qualify for any concessions (see below) to: info@whatsartgottodowithit.de
The cut-off date for registration is June 20, 2022.

  • — Participation in all events including accommodation in a single room and full board in the Stiftung Kloster Frenswegen €300/250*
  • — Participation in all events including accommodation in a twin room and full board in the Stiftung Kloster Frenswegen €230/180*
  • — Participation in all events including lunch and dinner (without accommodation) €150/100*
  • *The concession discount is available to those enrolled in a degree program or doing a vocational course or professional traineeship, as well as doctoral candidates and interns.
Credit: a|w|sobott

Contact

Supported by

What’s art got to do with it?

A Summer School on Art and Collective Memory

August 22–28, 2022 in Bathorn, Germany

Register Now
Deutsch

What’s art got to do with it?

Eine Summer School zu Kunst und kollektiver Erinnerung

22.–28. August 2022 in Bathorn

Ausgehend von der Skulptur Ein Weg durch das Moor (1999) des Schweizer Künstlerduos Peter Fischli und David Weiss, die sich in direkter Nähe zum ehemaligen NS-Strafgefangenenlager Bathorn befindet, sind die Teilnehmenden der Summer School eingeladen, sich mit aktuellen Diskursen zur Erinnerungskultur und ihren möglichen künstlerischen Ausformungen auseinanderzusetzen. In Workshops, Performances, Lesungen und Diskussionen mit Künstler*Innen, Kurator*Innen und lokalen Akteur*Innen sowie in praktischen Arbeitseinsätzen zur Instandhaltung der Skulptur von Fischli & Weiss, soll der Frage „What’s art got to do with it?“ („Was hat Kunst damit zu tun?“) nachgegangen werden. Genauer gesagt, was hat Kunst mit Geschichtsaufarbeitung zu tun und welche Rolle kann, soll oder muss sie im Diskurs um kollektive Erinnerung spielen? In der Summer School wollen wir gemeinsam das Verhältnis zwischen den gesellschaftspolitischen und geschichtswissenschaftlichen Dimensionen der Erinnerungskultur und den kritischen Potenzialen künstlerischer Praxis ausloten.

Peter Fischli und David Weiss – Ein Weg durch das Moor (1999)

Das Schweizer Künstlerduo Peter Fischli (*1952) und David Weiss (*1946–2012) widmet sich in ihren Arbeiten den Banalitäten des Alltags. Auf humorvolle und zugleich philosophische Weise decken die Künstler in kleinteiligen Installationen, Miniaturen und Kurzfilmen scheinbar nebensächliche Mechanismen unseres Zusammenlebens auf. Dabei bleibt kaum ein Material ungenutzt – von Würsten und anderen Essensresten bis hin zu Polyurethan, Gummi, Ton oder Holz. Durch die Verwendung dieser künstlerisch vergleichsweise wertlosen Rohstoffe und Techniken richten sie den Blick der Betrachter*Innen auf das hinlänglich Bekannte, um es dann ad absurdum zu führen. Seit dem Tod von David Weiss setzt Peter Fischli die Arbeit des Duos alleine fort. Der Einladung der Gastkuratoren Harald Szeeman und Zdenek Felix folgend, bauten Fischli & Weiss im Rahmen von „kunstwegen“ 1999 einen 1,2 km langen Steg aus Eichenholz durch das Waldgebiet hinter dem ehemaligen NS-Strafgefangenenlager Bathorn. Der schmale Rundweg läuft auf kein konkretes Ziel zu, zeichnet sich durch eine Vielzahl von Kurven sowie große Höhenunterschiede aus und ist an einigen Stellen lückenhaft. Durch die anspruchsvolle Gestaltung wird eine bewusste und konzentrierte Begehung notwendig. Auf halber Strecke lichtet sich der Wald kurzzeitig und gibt den Blick auf ein heute renaturiertes Torfabbaugebiet frei. Neben der wichtigen Rolle der Natur, auf die sich das Kunstwerk konsequent bezieht, indem ganz bewusst auf langlebige Metallstützen oder einen rutschfesten Belag verzichtet wurde, steht vor allem die Geschichte des Ortes und deren Reflexion im Mittelpunkt. Als stiller Begegnungsort bietet die Skulptur die Möglichkeit, die Geschichte der lokalen „Emslandlager“ und der dort internierten Gefangenen zu gedenken. Gleichzeitig lässt sie sich als bildhafter Verweis auf nicht-lineare und stets unvollständige Prozesse kollektiven Erinnerns lesen.

Das offene Museum „kunstwegen“ wurde im Jahr 2000 als grenzübergreifendes Projekt zwischen den Niederlanden und Deutschland eröffnet. Auf einer Strecke von über 180 Kilometern befinden sich derzeit mehr als 80 Skulpturen von internationalen Künstler*Innen. Aufgestellt entlang der Vechte, einem vom deutschen Münsterland bis zum niederländischen Ijsselmeer verlaufenden Fluss, verbinden die Skulpturen und Installationen die Grenzregionen. Die Kunstwerke gehen einen engen Dialog mit den örtlichen Gegebenheiten ein, indem sie Naturphänomene, regionale Eigenheiten und historische Ereignisse aufgreifen.

Der Ort und seine Geschichte

Zwischen 1933  und 1945 wurden im Gebiet des heutigen Emsland und der Grafschaft Bentheim insgesamt 15 sogenannte „Emslandlager“ von den Nationalsozialisten errichtet und betrieben. Sie waren Teil des groß angelegten Projekts der „inneren Kolonisierung“, das die als rückständig geltende Gegend zu einer wirtschaftlichen Vorzeigeregion machen und Platz für Siedler aus den Ostgebieten des Reiches schaffen sollte. In den Konzentrations-, Straf- und Kriegsgefangenenlagern wurden in den ersten Jahren vor allem politische Gefangene interniert und zur Arbeit im lokalen Torfabbaugebiet gezwungen. Sie stammten überwiegend aus dem sozialistisch bzw. kommunistisch geprägten Ruhrgebiet und wurden durch das von einigen Insassen selbst komponierte Lied „Die Moorsoldaten“ zu einem Sinnbild des internationalen antifaschistischen Widerstandes. Das Lager XIV Bathorn wurde 1938 errichtet und war ursprünglich für 1.000 Häftlinge ausgelegt. Nach Kriegsbeginn 1939 wurden hier, wie in den anderen „Emslandlagern“, vor allem Kriegsgefangene aus der Sowjetunion und Frankreich sowie dessen Kolonien interniert. Mit über 4.000 Häftlingen wurde der Standort Bathorn in dieser Zeit allerdings weit über Kapazität belegt. Schwerstarbeit, unzureichende Ernährung und mangelhafte hygienische Verhältnisse in den Baracken forderten zahllose Opfer. Das Lager wurde 1945 von kanadischen Soldaten befreit und zu einem Auffanglager für Geflüchtete und Vertriebene umgebaut.

Programm

  • James Gregory Atkinson (Workshop)
  • James Gregory Atkinson ist bildender Künstler und Absolvent der Frankfurter Städelschule. Ausgehend von seiner bikulturellen deutsch afro-amerikanischen Herkunft, reagiert er in seiner multimedialen Praxis auf die extreme Unvollständigkeit offizieller Archive Schwarzer Menschen, ihren Erzählungen und Kulturen. Indem er auf die Geschichte von queeren Menschen und Schwarzen zurückgreift, sie bearbeitet, modifiziert und in einen Dialog mit der Gegenwart bringt, schafft er alternative Wege der Begegnung mit Vergangenheit. Sein Workshop zielt darauf ab, gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmenden kritische Strategien im Umgang mit etablierten Geschichtsschreibungen und klassischen Archiven zu entwickeln, um mit Hilfe von transnationalen und intersektionalen Narrativen das Spektrum der Erinnerungskultur aktiv zu erweitern.
  • Credit: Killa Schuetze
  • Juliane Bischoff (Workshop)
  • Juliane Bischoff arbeitet derzeit als Kuratorin am NS-Dokumentationszentrum München, wo sie u.a. die Ausstellung „Tell me about yesterday tomorrow“ (2019–2020) co-kuratierte. Zuvor war sie an der Kunsthalle Wien tätig, wo sie an Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen wie „Kate Newby. I can’t nail the days down“ (2018) und „How to Live Together“ (2017) sowie diskursive Programme wie „Political Futures“ (2018) realisierte. Sie verfasst regelmäßig Beiträge für Publikationen und Ausstellungskataloge. Ihr Workshop beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, wie Kunst Wissen über Geschichte und ihre Bedeutung für die Gegenwart zugänglich machen kann. Dabei geht es um die Ästhetik von Erinnerungskultur sowie künstlerische Verfahren, die in bestehende Geschichtsbilder intervenieren oder zur kollektiven Auseinandersetzung anregen.
  • Credit: Orla Connolly
  • Talya Feldman (Workshop)
  • Talya Feldman ist Künstlerin und arbeitet im Bereich der zeitbasierten Medienkunst. Ihre Projekte, die sie gemeinsam mit Aktivist*innen und forschungsbasierten Netzwerken entwickelt, haben weltweite Anerkennung für die Bekämpfung rassistischer und antisemitischer Narrative erlangt. 2021 erhielt sie den DAGESH-Kunstpreis für ihre Klanginstallation „The Violence We Have Witnessed Carries a Weight on Our Hearts“ im Jüdischen Museum in Berlin, die im Rahmen der Summer School im Kloster Frenswegen zu sehen sein wird. Bei Gesprächen über rechten Terror konzentrieren sich Medienberichterstattungen und gesellschaftliche Debatten fast ausschließlich auf Täter*innen. Die Perspektive der Betroffenen und ihrer Angehörigen fehlt fast völlig. In ihrem Workshop leitet Talya Feldman die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer dazu an, sich kritisch mit aktuellen medialen und politischen Strukturen auseinanderzusetzen, indem sie hinterfragen, was sie sehen – und was sie hören. Wie äußern sich Überlebende und Betroffene von rassistischen und antisemitischen Angriffen und wie aktivieren sie Widerstand? Auf welche Weise kämpfen sie für ein würdiges Gedenken im öffentlichen und privaten Raum?
  • Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung (Filmprogramm)
  • Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung ist Autor, Kritiker und Gründungsredakteur der Plattform für Institutionskritik Decolonial Hacker. 2021 gewann er den ersten Preis bei den Seventh International Awards for Art Criticism (IAAC). Er ist zur Zeit kuratorischer Assistent der Julia Stoschek Collection. Im Rahmen der Summer School kuratiert er ein Filmprogramm mit Werke von Künstler*innen, die sich mit der Entstehung und der Kontinuität faschistischer Strukturen in einem globalen Kontext auseinandersetzen.
  • Credit: Agustin Farias
  • Friedemann Heckel (Installation)
  • Friedemann Heckel ist Künstler und hat an der Universität der Künste Berlin studiert. Seine während der Summer School im Klostergarten installierten Sitzmöbel bieten jeweils mehreren Personen zeitgleich Platz. Ihre Gestaltung soll die Einzelnen aus ihrem solitären Dasein lösen und die Möglichkeit für einen Dialog, eine intime Diskussion oder die Rücksprache im kleinen Kreis schaffen. Damit bergen sie das Potential zu Ideen, Erkenntnissen oder Fragestellungen zu verhelfen, die sich allein oder in einer (zu) großen Gruppe, nicht ergeben.
  • Anna Langhoff (Lesung)
  • Anna Langhoff ist Autorin, Regisseurin und Dramaturgin. Ihre Theaterstücke, Hörspiele und Prosa wurden weltweit aufgeführt und in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt. Sie ist die Enkelin des Schauspielers und Regisseurs Wolfang Langhoff, der eines der sogenannten „Emslandlager“, das KZ-Börgermoor, überlebte und anschließend den berühmten Zeitzeugenbericht „Die Moorsoldaten“ verfasste. Aus diesem wird Anna Langhoff im Rahmen der Summer School Ausschnitte vorlesen und anschließend im Gespräch auf Bezüge zu aktuellen gesellschafts- und kulturpolitischen Debatten eingehen.
  • Kurt Buck & Roland Nachtigäller (Gespräch)
  • Kurt Buck ist Pädagoge und Historiker. Von 1985 bis 2019 leitete er das Dokumentations- und Informationszentrum Emslandlager (DIZ), das wesentlich zur Gründung der heutigen Gedenkstätte Esterwegen beitrug und eine wichtige Rolle bei der Aufarbeitung und Archivierung der Geschichte der lokalen Konzentrations-, Straf- und Kriegsgefangenenlager spielt.
  • Roland Nachtigäller ist Kunstwissenschaftler und Ausstellungsmacher. Zwischen 1999 und 2000 war er gemeinsam mit Martin Köttering für die Skulpturenroute „kunstwegen“ verantwortlich, in deren Rahmen auch „Ein Weg durch das Moor“ (1999) von Peter Fischli und David Weiss in Bathorn realisiert wurde. Seit 2022 ist er Geschäftsführer der Stiftung Insel Hombroich.
  • Credit: Marta Herford, Foto: theothercara
  • Gemeinsam sprechen sie über die Entstehung der Gedenkstätte sowie der Arbeit von Fischli und Weiss und setzen diese in einen Kontext mit den langwierigen Prozessen historischer Aufarbeitung in der Region und darüber hinaus.

Anmeldung

Die Anmeldung erfolgt per Mail unter Angabe der persönlichen Daten (Name, Adresse, Telefonnummer, Email, Art der Teilnahme) an: info@whatsartgottodowithit.de
Anmeldefrist: 31.05.2022

  • — Teilnahme an allen Veranstaltungen inkl. Übernachtung im Einzelzimmer und Vollpension in der Stiftung Kloster Frenswegen 300,00€/250,00€*
  • — Teilnahme an allen Veranstaltungen inkl. Übernachtung im Zweitbettzimmer und Vollpension in der Stiftung Kloster Frenswegen 230,00€/180,00€*
  • — Teilnahme an allen Veranstaltungen inkl. Mittag- und Abendessen (ohne Übernachtung) 150,00€/100,00€*
  • *Studierende, Auszubildende, Volontär*innen, Doktorand*innen, Praktikant*innen
Credit: a|w|sobott

Kontakt

Unterstützt von

What’s art got to do with it?

Eine Summer School zu Kunst und kollektiver Erinnerung

22.–28. August 2022 in Bathorn

Jetzt anmelden
English